Special Sessions

Hans, Dimo & Dotchi: Three Immortal Names in the History of IACIS and Colloid Science

Brian Vincent will talk about what these three members have done for IACIS, science and the industry over the years. Furthermore Louise Deschenes, Willem Norde, Victor Starov and Krassimir Velikov will speak during this special session in memory of these three prominent members.  Reinhard Miller – President of IACIS – will be the session leader.

Lifetime Achievement Award (LTAA) Ceremony

Based on his scientific excellence and leadership during a long time, the Award Committee has decided to give the 2018 IACIS Lifetime Achievement Award (LTAA) to Professor Helmuth Möhwald.

In March we received the sad news that Prof. Möhwald passed away. We know that he was delighted to receive the Award and looking forward to participate in the IACIS 2018 Conference. Prof. Björn Lindman, in his capacity of chair of the Award Committee, will hand over the Award posthumously. In addition, a number of scientists that were close to Helmuth Möhwald will give a short presentation in his honour.

Möhwald has since the early 1990s been a director at the Max Planck Institute of Colloids & Interfaces in Golm and was the main driving force in starting and building up the institute. This institute has developed into one of the most prominent research centers on colloids and interfaces in the world. Helmuth Möhwald’s pioneering contributions lie in several important parts of colloid and interface science. Early work on surfactant and lipid monolayers at the air-water interface by fluorescence microscopy and other techniques provided evidence for first-order phase transitions. Later he developed techniques to produce ultra-thin organized organic films. A further development was the production of well-defined capsules based on deposition of polyelectrolytes on colloidal particles. In addition, Möhwald has throughout his career been instrumental in developing and applying new experimental techniques for colloids and surfaces.

The programme of this Ceremony will look as follows:

09:00 – 09.15: Polymer/Colloidal surface assemblies: Towards multi-scale optical materials
Andreas Ferry, Leibniz Institut für Polymerforschung, Dresden, Germany
09:15 – 09.30: Continuous Fabrication of Hierarchical and Asymmetric Bijel Microparticles, Fibers, and Membranes by Solvent Transfer-Induced Phase Separation (STRIPS)
Martin Haase, Rowan University, USA
09:30 – 09.45 How to program the processes at interface with light: computing by chemistry?
Ekaterina V. Skorb, ITMO University, St. Petersburg, Russia